Beautiful Creatures Movie

Hello my fellow Misfits! I can’t believe that the day is finally here where I can actually write a post about the Beautiful Creatures movie trailer! Ahh, this is so exciting (doing a happy dance)! Anywho, watch the trailer and then read my rant underneath it!

So… what did you think? Personally, I didn’t love it.

First of, who the beep beep beep did they cast as Ethan? He’s 1) not hot enough, and 2) way too old! I mean, come on people! How hard is it to cast a person who is 16 years old, not 23 (which is Alden Ehrenreich real age). Yes, yes, I know 23 isn’t THAT much, but he looks too old, and too mature. I can’t even begin understand why they would cast him as Ethan… I just can’t.

However, the fact that Emmy Rossum is in it, changes everything! Have you ever heard of this little movie called, The Phantom of the Opera? If not, then I give you permission to leave this website and you have relinquished your right to ever return to it. If you’ve heard of it and want to watch it, I give you permission to stay. Emmy Rossum is playing Ridley who is without a doubt my favorite character, even though she is a little bit of a psycho.

For the other characters, I remain opinion less; haven’t seen enough of them yet to judge them fairly. The effects seem good, and everything in general seems excellent (minus the whole Alden Ehrenreich scandal)… but then again I really and truly do love this series… and my opinion is a little biased.

Remember people: Embrace The Misfits That Is Us!

National Novel Writing Month

Hello my fellow Misfits! Right now I would like to blog about something called “National Novel Writing Month”, or plainly NaNoWriMo. This amazing event takes place from the first of November, to the very last of November, where the contestants have 1 month to write a novel of 50, 000 words! Really cool, right? And every winner gets 5 free paperback copies of their novel, as well as they get to send it to CreateSpace and have it published! Again, I can’t even begin to describe how epic this program is!

So, I am doing it – I love writing and this idea is just so awesome that I could not not do it! – and even though it is a little late to promote it, this is something you guys should keep your eyes open for next year.

If you’d like to see how I am doing (and yes, I know that 90% of you don’t care at all) then just click here, and it will take you to my profile thingamagig. I am doing the YWP, the Young Writers Program, and the reason for this is because I am a young writer, and I do go to school and stuff.

Just as an FYI, I will be asking for your advice about somethings, you know. It helps to have some people give you critique about how you could improve.

If I haven’t explained things enough for you, click here and it will take you to a more detailed link about NaNoWriMo.

Remember people: Embrace The Misfits That Is Us!

From Books to Movies Favorites

Hello my fellow Misfits! One thing that I absolutely love is when a good book that I’ve read gets turned into a movie. I feel as if you then get to view the book from a whole different perspective, and since the author’s are usually there to watch and help with the movie, you get to see what things should really look like, and not just how you envisioned it in your mind (whoops, long sentence). So, I’ve done a little snooping (ok, using google is not really snooping, but whatever) around and these are some of my favorite books that are rumored to being turned, now or in the near future, into a movie.

Movie #1 – Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lenamoves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

I am so super excited that this book is being turned into a movie! I had no idea that it was until a few minutes ago and I’m so happy that we will get t0 see it. Oh, and, in my opinion, the best part? Emmy Rossum (Christine from Phantom of the Opera) is gonna be playing Riley! YAY! Sorry, but I am a bit of a Phantom of the Opera freak, which means that I could probably recite the whole movie from memory. Anywho, super excited and can’t wait! Oh, I almost forgot to mention that it’s supposed to come out in 2013, sorry about that.

For more information about cast and movie dates, check out http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1559547/

Movie #2 – Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Rule #3: Don’t stare at invisible faeries.

Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty—especially if they learn of her Sight—and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don’t speak to invisible faeries.

Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don’t ever attract their attention.

But it’s too late. Keenan is the Summer King who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost—regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life;everything.

Faerie intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr’s stunning 21st century faery tale.

Ok, so I have a few mixed emotions about this one, but it is super popular and I had to add it to my list. The reason for my mixed emotions? Well, I didn’t really like the book. I know, I know, but I just really hate it when a person loves to people at once. I mean, just pick someone! I know that it’s hard and you don’t want to hurt the other persons feelings, but seriously, your hurting them both more by not choosing! I might not know much but I know that much at least! I won’t go into much detail about this book, cause I don’t like it, but if you do then check out this http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1517273/ for more information. No release date given.

Movie #3 – Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf–her wolf–is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without. Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human . . . until the cold makes him shift back again. 

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human–or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

YAY! Ok, seeing this is making my jump up and down my chair with excitement! I read this book last year and it was probably the best book that I read that year! I mean, this book is so completely wonderful and seeing that it’s being turned into a movie is, oh, I can’t even describe it! However, now comes the sad part, the site I usually use was very gauge about how and when and yada yada, so I went to Maggie’s personal blog and found out the the movie right’s have been optioned, but they haven’t started to make the movie, yet. So, lets keep our fingers crossed people!

For some more info check out: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1520490/

Movie #4 – Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

 St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school–it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s–the very place where they’re most in danger. Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi–the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires–make Lissa one of them forever.

Hmm, ok, so I liked to book, but I didn’t love the book. It’s interesting and defiantly read worthy, but just not all that super exciting if you know what I mean.

For more information, go to http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1686821/

Movie #5 – House of Night by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

Enter the dark, magical world of the House of Night, a world very much like our own, except here vampyres have always existed. 

One minute, sixteen-year-old Zoey Redbird is a normal teenager dealing with everyday high school stress: her cute boyfriend Heath, the school’s star quarterback who suddenly seems more interested in partying than playing ball; her nosy frenemy Kayla, who’s way too concerned with how things are going with Heath; her uber-tough geometry test tomorrow.  The next, she’s Marked as a fledgling vampyre, forcing her to leave her ordinary life behind and join the House of Night, a boarding school where she will train to become an adult vampyre.  That is, if she makes it through the Change—and not all of those who are Marked do.  It sucks to begin a new life, especially away from her friends, and on top of that, Zoey is no average fledgling.  She has been chosen as special by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx.  Zoey discovers she has amazing powers, but along with her powers come bloodlust and an unfortunate ability to Imprint with Heath, who just doesn’t know how to take “no” for an answer.  To add to her stress, she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers: when she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite group, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny—with a little help from her new vampyre friends.

Love, love, love! I have read every book there is to read about House of Night and I positively can’t wait for the movie. Again, my site was very vague, but check it out anyway: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1326273/

Book #6 – Divergent by Veronica Roth

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

This is probably the best book I’ve read this year, so far (however, I doubt anything is going to top it). It is so unbelievably amazing and fascinating, I just don’t know what to do. It’s seriously a book that you get addicted to. Ok, now the super vague information is starting to get to me, but here it is anyway: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1840309/

This is all I have for now… maybe more in the future!

Remember people: Embrace The Misfits That Is Us!

P.S. if you have seen this post before, I might’ve copied it from my other blog, and so it isn’t me plagiarizing… I thought you should know that.

The Host Movie

Hello my fellow Misfits! So, for a couple of months now, this youtube trailer about the Host (a book by Stephenie Meyer, also author of the Twilight Saga which is being made into a movie) and I would describe it as a watering hole before reaching a big city; it sustains us for a while, but sooner or later we’re going to want the real thing. Anywho, check it out, it’s a 6 out of 10 on the awesome scale:

So… did you like it? Do you agree with me? Watering hole, right? I really do want to watch a “real” trailer, and not just a teaser trailer, but… this will suffice for now.

Remember people: Embrace The Misfits That Is Us!

P.S., I know that I “misspelled” “anywho”, but I think it sounds more awesome this way, so that’s why I do it!

Nerdfighters

Hello my fellow misfits! I am a HUGE John Green fan! John Green is (absolutely awesome) an auhtor, you might’ve heard of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Kathrine’s, or maybe The Fault in Out Stars … he won the price award… no? Well, just click onto the titles of the books and it’ll take you to a short synopsis of the your selected one. However, the main reason to why I wanted you here was to show you the short youtube video bellow, it will explain everything:

So, I hope you’ve watched it and enjoyed it, I loved it! And no matter if you’re a nerdfighter or not, John Green and Hank Green are completely hilarious, there’s no denying that!

Remember people: Embrace The Misfits That Is Us!